Port Harcourt had been selected by Frederick Lugard in 1912 to build new port facilities to help with the export of coal from the nearby Enugu coalmines. These photos are therefore a fascinating record of the government of Southern Nigeria clearing and constructing a new settlement from scratch. The name Harcourt was in honour of Lewis Harcourt, 1st Viscount Harcourt who was then the Secretary of State for the Colonies.
The reverse explains a little more about the scene:
A native chief's canoe is seen, also the District Commissioner's Launch and our railway Launch in the foreground - the "Eteketem".
Mangrove swamp is seen at the end of the "bluff" - on extreme left of photo.
Cliff = 40 feet high, which it is proposed to cut down to 16 foot above water mark, so as to form the wharf.